Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Shared governance among the different groups who make up the TOPS community continues to be a hallmark for TOPS as an alternative school.  Site Council is TOPS’s main governing body (similar to a PTA) and is made up of elected representatives from TOPS school administrators, teachers, parents, student(s) from ASB, the Coalition for Social Justice and the Eastlake Community. We are also trustees of TOPS’ parent-organized, non-profit fundraising organization called Friends of TOPS (FOT). Site Council supports curriculum enhancements and community building projects with the funds raised by FOT.

    Site Council typically meets on the 2nd Wednesday of each month in the TOPS library from 5-7 PM. All are welcome to participate in meetings, but only elected representatives may vote. You will receive communications & minutes from Site Council via your grade band’s Google group throughout the school year.

    Please contact your grade band rep, or any other Site Council rep, if you have questions about the TOPS community or school processes.

    Site Council Members 2016-2017

    2016-2017 Site Council Parent Representatives

    Grade Representing

    Name

    Email

    Site Council Position

    K

    Ted MacGovern

    (K & 3)

    ted.macgovern@gmail.com

    Parent Representative

    1

    Tim Ahlers

    (1)

    timahlers206@gmail.com

    Co-Chair

    2

    Scott Mertel

    (K & 2)

    scmertel@comcast.net

    Parent Representative

    3

    Christy Lesseig

    (3)

    christy.lesseig@gmail.com

    Secretary

    3

    Andre Ropeta

    (3)

    andre_ropeta@hotmail.com

    Treasurer

    4

    Tina Shereen

    (K,  2 & 4)

    tinashereen@yahoo.com

    Parent Representative

    5

    Doug Stanley-Hunt

    (K & 5)

    doug@stanley-hunt.com

    Communications Director 

    6

    Michelle Buetow

    (6 & 8)

    michellebuetow@hotmail.com

    Chair

    7

    Sharon Grey

    (5 & 7)

    sharonus@gmail.com

    Parent Representative

    8

    Justine Guarda

    (4 & 8)

    justine.guarda@gmail.com

    Parent Representative

     

    Coalition for Social Justice Representatives:
    Anju Ganti anjuganti@gmail.com

    Eastlake Community Representative:
    Emma Hainer emmahainer@centurylink.net
    Colleen Lux colleen.mcgeoghegan@gmail.com (ALT)

    Teachers

    K-2 - Courtny Jarman cjjarman@seattleschools.org

    3-5 - Kristy Herrmann klherrmann@seattleschools.org

    MS - Lori Eickelberg lmeickelberg@seattleschools.org

    Specialist - Nancy Spieker nspieker@seattleschools.org

    Principal - Amy Schwentor alschwentor@seattleschools.org

    Proposed bylaws update

    Proposed bylaws update, December 2016